A Double Review of Sticky Fingers 2

Kim and I previously listened to the Audible version of Sticky Fingers by JT Lawerence here.  We will be reviewing Sticky Fingers 2 today and Sticky Fingers 3 tomorrow!  All of these Audible versions were sent to us by Lawrence in exchange for honest reviews: and both Kim and I  love these short story collections!  We are somewhat similar yet also different with what we like and it seems that between the both of us we enjoyed all of the stories in these collections. Thank you so much JT Lawrence for sending us these copies!  

Author: JT Lawrence
Published: March 24, 2018
Audible

Book Description:

Diverse, dark-humored, and deliciously bite-sized: JT Lawrence ratchets up the tension with this compelling collection of short stories perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Roald Dahl.

Stories Include:

Gatsby’s Double
An artist’s Pomeranian has been replaced by an imposter.

Court, Marry, Kill
Whose body ends up being unzipped by fish on the ocean floor?

Rockabye Baby
A female-only cult has a very dark side.

He Did It
A detective relies on his gut (and his hallucinations) to help him solve murder cases.

The Brain Bleacher
He can remove your pain by hacking your memory, but his own suffering is here to stay.

If you’re a fan of Roald Dahl or Gillian Flynn you’ll love this collection of unsettling stories with a twist in the tale. Get it now.


Kim’s Review
Kim’s Rating: 4 Stars

I am writing this review based off the listening of my free Audible copy, provided by the author. Another awesome short story collection, just as dark as the first! And I really enjoyed how the author built on stories from the first collection. The vacation reviewer story was funny in the first volume, but he was absolutely hilarious in the second! I laughed through the whole story. I loved trying to predict the twist in each story, not that I’m very good at it, I just enjoy doing it. I think my favorites in this bunch were Astrid, about the mother who puts her daughter in daycare for the first time, Dasher, cuz I hate kids and people (:D), and Court, Marry, Kill, because I love vigilante justice!

The Sticky Fingers compilations are pretty much the only short story collections that I’ll read, and I really like them a lot! The only reason I gave this collection 4 stars is because one of the stories is from the When Tomorrow Calls series, and I had already read it. I absolutely recommend this collection to anyone looking for a chilling, interesting read!

Jessica’s Review
Dates Listened: October 10-16, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Continuing in the tradition of Sticky Fingers, JT Lawrence brings us volume two in what is at this point a three volume series of short stories.  There are twelve stories in each and I love these books! I really enjoy short stories, especially when they are well written.  There is something for everyone if you like short stories that have a twist to them. Just be prepared for when the story is over that you may want it to continue!

Not all the stories were not for me, at no fault to the author.  Some of the stories just did not work for me, but not everything written will please everyone.  JT Lawrence really has a talent with her short stories!  I will write ‘mini-reviews’ on some of the stories:

Panama Wings:
A Missing woman and a missing plane. What’s the connection? It’s not what you expect and neither was that ending. 

Astrid:
This one really gripped me. I figured the twist out fairly quickly, but the journey of getting there with our narrator… OMG!

GlobeTrotter69:
Here we go again with the reviews of a hotel stay! I love it!!!!

Court, Marry, Kill:
This one was difficult to listen to, but had a satisfying ending: I loved it!

Alpha Lyrae:
A robot love story: I needed more to this one. Maybe Lawrence will expand on this world! (And I am selective with my sci-fi stories…)

Rockabye Baby:
A female only cult:  That is all you need to say and I am there reading it!  I find cults fascinating and this had a Handmaid’s Tale feel to it for me (I have not read Handmaid’s Tale and only watched the first episode of the show, but it had the same type feeling for me.) 

Brain Bleacher:

I loved this concept and I need more!

**Please note that Jessica had previously purchased a Kindle copy, but chose to listen to the Audible copy sent by the author. Thank you again to JT Lawrence for the Audible copy. We both enjoyed it and highly recommend this short story collection!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Cover Reveal: The Talisman: Molly’s Story

Today I am helping in the cover reveal for The Talisman: Molly’s Story by Eliza J. Scott. This is the second novel in the Life on the Moors series. Publication Day is February 4th.

Molly’s dream of taking over her childhood home at Withrin Hill Farm with husband Pip and their three children has finally come true. And, as they settle into the stunning Georgian farmhouse, with their plans to diversify into glamping nicely taking shape, the family couldn’t be happier.

But tragedy suddenly strikes, and Molly’s world is turned upside down.

Heartbroken and devastated, she struggles to face each day. True to form, her fiercely loyal best friends, Kitty and Violet, rally round offering love and support, but Molly doesn’t think she’ll ever be able to smile again. Until the day a tall, dark stranger with twinkly eyes arrives…

Follow Molly’s story in book 2 of the Life on the Moors Series set in Lytell Stangdale, a picture-perfect village in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, where life is anything but quiet.

A heart-warming story of love, friendship and hope.

 

 

 

 

 

What does the cover look like?????? Keep scrolling to find out!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Almost there!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here it is:

Pre-order The Talisman: Molly’s Story:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

About the Author:

Eliza lives in a 17th-century cottage on the edge of a village in the North Yorkshire Moors with her husband, their two daughters and two mischievous black Labradors. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found with her nose in a book/glued to her Kindle or working in her garden. Eliza also enjoys bracing walks in the countryside, rounded off by a visit to a teashop where she can indulge in another two of her favourite things: tea and cake.

Eliza is inspired by her beautiful surroundings and loves to write heart-warming stories with happy endings.

Contact Eliza:
Website
Twitter @ElizaJScott1
Instagram @elizajscott
Facebook
Goodreads
Bookbub

 

 

 

[Top]

Standalone Sunday: The Ruins of Lace

Standalone Sunday was started by Megan over at Bookslayer Reads.

What is Standalone Sunday?

Each Sunday bloggers feature a standalone book (one that is not part of a series) that they loved or would recommend. The standalone can also be one you want to read. There is so much focus on books that are part of a series that standalone books seem to be forgotten. They can be just as great as book series!

This week’s #SAS is a Kim pick! But if you have been following us for a while, you will have figured that out as by now you know what we both read. 

This week’s #SAS is by Iris Anthony:

The Ruins of Lace

Lace is a thing like hope.
It is beauty; it is grace.
It was never meant to destroy so many lives.

The mad passion for forbidden lace has infiltrated France,
pulling soldier and courtier alike into its web. For those who want the best, Flemish lace is the only choice, an exquisite perfection of thread and air. For those who want something they don’t have, Flemish lace can buy almost anything–or anyone.

For Lisette, lace begins her downfall, and the only way to atone for her sins is to outwit the noble who now demands the impossible. To fail means certain destruction. But for Katharina, lace is her salvation. It is who she is; it is what she does. If she cannot make this stunning tempest of threads, a dreaded fate awaits.

The most lucrative contraband in Europe, with its intricate patterns and ephemeral hope, threatens to cost them everything. Lace may be the deliverance for which they all pray… or it may bring the ruin and imprisonment they all fear.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Remembering Megan:

Standalone Sunday was started by Megan over at Bookslayer Reads. She sadly passed away last year and was the heart of the book blogger community. She was always so welcoming and helpful towards others and she is missed.

Megan’s presence on social media is gone, but I will remember her! It’s sad that a life so young ended.

[Top]